Feeling better now than I have over the past week

psychiatristI’m feeling a bit better today. I was in Newmarket as I had two doctors appointments. First my GP who really didn’t answer me when I asked if my numb fingers would cause any long term damage while I wait for the surgery. It’s been over 3 weeks since I’ve been able to feel my fingers.

Then there was my psychiatrist who has helped me tremendously. He altered my medication once again so that hopefully I’ll be right back on track as I’ve been feeling ‘off’ these past few weeks.

But most importantly he asked about my finances and filled out a disability form for me as he said I should have been collecting that all along. (It’s been 2 months since I have worked). He has signed me off for 3 months. So I will submit that next Wednesday at my Social Services appointment and then wait the extremely long time period in which they take to decide if I’m eligible for it or not.

I feel like such a welfare case! But, I have paid into these funds for years so I guess I have a right to it now that my hands won’t allow me to work until the surgery is done.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 12:00:12

    I always thought carpal tunnel was nerve related as opposed to circulation related. My mother in law had narrowing of the arteries in her legs, which of course meant seriously decreased circulation, but I thought carpal tunnel just affected the nerves and sensation as opposed to the veins, arteries and circulation. I could be wrong, but I wouldn\’t think that would cause any lasting damage. But at least you\’re eligible for some money! And yes, you paid into it, and all the rest of us paid into it so that now that you need it, you deserve it! I may not be able to do much else for you, but I have the satisfaction of knowing that my tax dollars that go to you are going where they\’re needed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

