Let bygones be bygones

After my Mom passed away, life changed. Suddenly, the people you loved and counted on were not there. A huge chunk of your life now no longer existed. The family home,… The holidays,… The “family” was no longer there. To me,… It all just felt so broken. Because of some things that had gone on in the past, my brothers and I had gone our separate ways and weren’t in each other’s lives. It was very lonely.

But once Mom passed away, I think Glen and I realized that all we had left was each other. I knew in my heart my parents would be disappointed if the family was no longer together. My brother and I loved our parents enough that as a gift to them, we choose to put our past behind us and reconcile our relationship. We knew what that would mean for our parents. And in doing this,… we were blessed with a gift to ourselves that we didn’t realize was even there. We found a bond together. We decided to just forget the past and focus on the future.

In doing this I have discovered a wonderful person in my brother. We have reconnected and are now rediscovering each other as people. I can honestly say that I am a richer person for it.. He has carved out a great life for himself and his family. I am so proud of the achievements he has accomplished and the person he has become.

And I am grateful to him for accepting me back into his life as I am. He has totally understood my health issues and has accepted them as “me”. He encourages me to do my best but understands when there are days I can’t’.  Just accepting me as “me” has meant a great deal.  There have not been many people in my life who have done that. It’s a refreshing relief to be able to live my life honestly and not have to keep making excuses for the bad days.

I’m pretty sure that Glen and I will remain great friends for the remainder of our lives now. I consider this a gift and am grateful for it.

Happy Birthday Glen!! I love you tons,…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lizzybee999
    May 17, 2012 @ 15:07:04

    LOVE THIS Jacquie!!! It is VERY true, and the same reason I love keeping in touch with childhood friends (like you, although you are much younger and we really knew each other as ‘young mums’ more!) because we are a great gift to each other, and losing our parents showed us just how precious a gift all our dear ones are. NOBODY can connect with us quite the same way as our siblings, and in a lesser way but also precious, those we share ‘past times’ with. So glad for you that you and Glen share friendship as well as family ties, and what a great tribute to your wonderful parents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

