Poem I wrote while in Homewood

This is one of many  poems that I wrote when I was in Homewood hospital. I just came across it while going through my stuff.
 
Trapped in Madness

My mind lives in a realm with no edge

Overflowing pastel shades of fog swirl in my head
My thoughts flow
No validity
No strength
Disintegrating into my mad and secret world
 
I exist in this delusion
Between other worlds
Floating aimlessly through the layers of my madness
Neither here nor there
In a twilight only I can see
It’s hauntingly beautiful inside my mind
 
I cannot leave my asylum
The portal is strong and covered in vines
The rusty handle locked in crusty rust
It’s impenetrable
I cannot pass through
I am forever a prisoner in my own perception
 
I am told I have to leave this haven
But I cannot find my way
I take a step
But the ground falls away
I fall and fall,…
Back into my world
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 20:43:47

    I really like the creative way you’ve described the mental world in which you live. Sadly I can relate.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 03:13:59

    Beautifully written, yet sad. I do know how you feel though. Wishing you hope, happiness and peace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

