Bad news

sick car

Good news,… then bad news,… up and down,… Up and down,… Yesterday was such a great day. Today, not so much. I took my car into the shop to get an emissions test done so that I could renew my license. The check engine light was on Monday so the mechanic took his little thingamabob and turned it off. He told me drive it around for a few days to see if it would stay off. It didn’t. While on my way to the garage I saw it was back on. They told me that that’s an automatic fail. To fix the problem they can do a ‘dual diagnostic’ test but said it could run as high as $450.00. And it doesn’t even guarantee a pass. It would depend on what they found.

Well ain’t that just grand? I mean really,… isn’t that just f***in grand,….

I love my car and I love the freedom it gives me. My two daughters live quite a distance away from me now (Barrie and Lindsay) and without my “Bella” I can’t go and see them. They don’t have cars either, so they can’t drive out here to see me. Quite a poopy situation to be in.

And this is where the ups and downs of my illness come in. Right now I feel like I’ve done a complete 180 and feel quite deflated. Honestly when I left that garage my heart had sunk to my feet. I have barely been holding on to this car as its had its share of problems this year. But I’ve had generous people doing what they can to help me keep it. So yesterday ~ on top of the world,… Today ~ I can feel my mood plummeting. I think today is going to be a day of catching up on Coronation Street and lots of kitty cuddles. Then tomorrow I can wake up and it will be a new day and I can start fresh.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robbear13
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 00:35:49

    Oh, dear. Cars can be so important, and such a real pain at the same time. I hope yours survives. And I hope you survive too.

    As for me, a large Black Dog has moved in, and I cannot seem to get much done. Maybe tomorrow; maybe not. The fall work in the garden is beckoning; I have no energy for it. An hour or two here and there. Sigh.

    Blessings and Bear hugs!

    Reply

  2. jacquierose
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 15:27:12

    I know that feeling well. And then the guilt sets in for not getting it done. I say ‘baby steps’ a little bit every day. It’s not ideal but we do what we can do. Feel free to ‘vent’ whenever you want **hugs**

    Reply

Leave a Reply

