Pulling myself together

Well it has been an event filled few weeks for me. I had the misfortune of having to go into the hospital because I had a stone lodged in my bile duct. 6 days of agony. Can’t remember ever feeling that much pain in my life before. But after 2 procedures (one a regular endoscope to see what was going on and another called ESCP where they did a laparoscopy to removed that one stone. That’s when I started to improve tremendously. But I still have to go back and get my gallbladder taken out. This will happen in a few weeks. But hopefully its going to be a strait forward day surgery with a quick recovery time.

Now,… everyone knows about my addiction issues. I have re-read the past few blogs I have written and it was definitely written by an addict. Why couldn’t I see the dangerous path I was taking once again. Medical marijuana – my ass! weed is a drug and I am a drug addict. Period. Such a simple concept yet I was blinded in denial. As of the first day I went into hospital I knew things were getting out of hand once again. I had been vaping/smoking 4 to 6 times a day for months beforehand. That’s not a casual user. That’s an addict.

But when I went into emergency in severe pain I had the experience of getting very strong narcotics for the pain. They tried morphine,… nothing. They tried 3 or 4 other narcotics and nothing hit the pain. My doctor was surprised at my tolerance of such powerful medications. At last they tried Dilaudid. This is a very powerful drug. My ‘sane’ mind was saying no, no, no,…. I am an addict. I can’t have that. But my addict mind (and the severe pain I was in) didn’t care. So I didn’t tell them I was a drug addict and let them give it to me intravenously. Well,… when I felt that Dilaudid hit my veins, I was instantly enveloped with a warm fuzzy cloud of deliciousness. Instantly it took away the pain but more so it put me right back in addict mode. Wow, where can I get me some of this?? I need more,… and more,… I definitely wanted to chase this dragon again and again. The black beast of addiction had risen to an all time high.

But while in the hospital ~ with no tv, radio or internet,  I had many hours to think. (11 days) My body cleared itself of all pain medications and marijuana and I was back to somewhat ‘clean’. It gave me the opportunity to see the danger I was in from this path I was on. Today,… I have promised myself to climb back up on the ‘recovery’ wagon once again. I have now been 14 days clean. With a little common sense, a lot of willpower and the support of my friends and family I really do wish to succeed in this long journey of recovery. Yes, we have all heard this before. I’m not going to guarantee anything. I can just promise I will try my utmost best in this battle of addiction. No more weed,… no more drugs,…. Sound’s so simple ~ yet it has proven to be the hardest battle I have fought.

It was only after I had been in the hospital that a loved one told me they saw it coming for awhile. That I was acting ‘scattered’ if that makes any sense. But after my stay in hospital they told me I looked so clear. acted much more normal. They felt I was on the right track to the old Jacquie. I had no idea anyone had even noticed my landslide back into the dark.

So no promises ~ but I am going to try this once again. For someone who loves the show Intervention,… I really should see the signs. But I didn’t. An addicted mind is a sick mind and I was right down there in the bottom pit of it.

So in the end,… I think this gallbladder attack has saved my life. It has given me the opportunity to ‘clean out’ and think.

All I can ask you to do is pray for me and wish me well on my latest (but hopefully last) road to sobriety and recovery.

 

One thought on “Pulling myself together

  1. Sorry you have had so much trouble. Life can be really difficult, eh? And lots of nuisance value in it. Been there-done that-have the scars.
    Fall down four times, get back up four times. That is the model for a winner. Until you quit falling down.
    In the meantime, little steps, level ground (or floor). You get yourself standing up straight, then you try walking. You know how to do it; it may take a little practice, but you have done it before.
    You can do this. You have done this. You will do this.
    It’s that simple. Really.

    Like

Leave a comment