Went off my meds ~ trouble ensued

7a3342b42dcdd88b5018851aa2c94570

I went off my meds,…

Trouble ensued.

The past few months I have really been struggling with my mental health and my addiction. Things got bad. I knew I had to take some drastic measures as I was on the verge of being evicted from my apartment (for smoking marijuana in our Non-smoking building) I decided to give this sobriety thing another go. It’s been 3 or 4 times now that I have gotten myself back up on the wagon, but I never seemed to be able to find a seat  I just kept falling off,….

But last week I decided that I have had enough and really need to get my ass clean. So I went up to Owen Sound (here in Ontario ~ about 2 hours away) to a 5 day de-tox program. I knew I would hate it. And I did. But it was the best thing for me. I was lucky enough that my brother and sister-in-law dropped everything and drove me out there at the last minute because they had a bed available. (and I mean ‘dropped everything!’)

The stay there wasn’t pleasant.

But,… here I am,… 7 full days clean. It’s not a lot but every day is another step closer to recovery. But this is where my journey to sobriety really starts. I have meetings to start going to again. I have found many resources here in Fergus that I can take advantage of that will hopefully be really helpful.  But most of all,… I have awesome support from my family and friends. They are constantly encouraging me and never give up on me even when I had given up on myself. This is going to be so important to me as I know that there will be bad days to get through on this journey. the real work is just beginning.

Baby steps,….

Leave a Reply

